The District is governed by the Board which is composed of seven elected Directors. Each candidate or appointee must qualify to serve as a Director in the manner provided under Section 36.055 of the Texas Water Code. A person who qualifies to serve as a Director is thereby entitled to participate in all votes relating to the business of the District regardles of any common law doctrine or any statutory conflicts of interest, incompatibility, or similar provision to the contrary.

As set forth under the District Act, Directors serving on the District’s Board serve staggered four-year terms and are elected by the voters according to the Act creating the District. The District shall hold an election to elect the appropriate number of directors on the uniform election date prescribed by Section 41.001, Election Code, in November of each even-numbered year. 

A vacancy in the office of Director shall be filled by appointment of the Board. The appointed Director serves only for the remainder of the unexpired term to which the director was appointed.